Weekly Photo Challenge: Signs

No Entry

No Entry

The photo was taken a few years ago during a vacation in Florence (Italy) and is the first thing that comes to my mind for this week’s photo challenge! This “No Entry” sign has left a lasting impression on me.

I thought the silhouette of a man carrying away the white bar was a very clever idea. I couldn’t believe my eyes at first and I was wondering whether it was an official Italian traffic sign or just a prank or some kind of graffiti? Florence is a city of art anyway, and I wasn’t too surprised by such artful sense of humor.

I composed the photo to include the nearby statue so as to illustrate the contrasting styles of art … Modern versus Renaissance.

Several weeks after that trip, I casually did a Google search and was pleasantly amused that there are actually many more of such signs throughout Florence! They are the creations of Clet Abraham, a French artist.

Street art, or guerilla art, needs to be reinvented in dialogue with the Renaissance city.

You can see his other interesting street signs, or street art signs, in the following video. Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Signs

    1. Jeremy Post author

      The “No Entry” sign was originally just the white bar against the red background. One night, the artist secretly and playfully (and illegally) added a stick-man over it.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Signs | Danbo Chat

  2. Maria Johnson

    I love this. It’s clever, and also well done. I think it’s brilliant how you included both the old and new, although I’m pretty partial to the new for it’s playfulness. Still, Florence is a beautiful city full of magnificent art. Glad you shared your sense of humor 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jeremy Post author

      Hi Maria, thanks for your compliments and, more importantly, thanks for taking the time to comment! I’m a new blogger (just 1 week old) and it is very encouraging to see this. Cheers 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Signs | Blogged With Words

Leave a Reply

