Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule of Thirds

Fireworks

Fireworks

It’s Chinese New Year now and I happen to be in China for a work assignment. Fireworks and firecrackers everywhere for the past few nights! I have a good view from my window and so it’s a good opportunity for me to practice fireworks photography in the comfort of my apartment … and that means avoiding the crowd! After several attempts, I could already predict the exact spot of the next burst and so I was able to frame it off-center and obey the Rule of Thirds.

This is my response to Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule of Thirds

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule of Thirds

  1. Adhika

    Nice shot, Jer! My fireworks shot are often polluted by the smokes, but this one is just spot on! 😀 Happy new year! I am glad you can access the “internet” in China!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Jeremy Post author

      Yes, it usually takes several bursts before we can get the correct camera settings and by that time it becomes very smokey. But I had plenty of chances to nail the settings before I shot this one which was at a fresh spot. btw, I use VPN to bypass the internet censorship although it only works occasionally.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Mabel Kwong

    Bravo. Stunning. Marvellous. Very, very good timing. Always hard to capture things in low light. Also, looks like this burst of firework had two auspicious colours to it 😉 A good luck sign perhaps for the coming year. Happy New Year 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge | Snapshots, Styles And Smiles

Leave a Reply

